The Making of Peace

By: Tiffany Contreras

She ran as fast she could to escape a life of which she no longer wanted to be a part. She said goodbye to her past life – the one that would lead her to a life of happiness and peace.

Located on the coast of Southport, North Carolina, Katie Feldman started her life again. She rented an old cottage in the rural ends of Southport, stayed as far away as people as she could and didn’t give many people a chance to connect with her. It wasn’t that she was mean or rude – she was scared and her trust had been betrayed by someone who was supposed to love her.

This is Nicholas Sparks’ Safe Haven.

I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks movies. Of course I love the components of love in each of the films, but that’s not the underlying reason – it’s that there’s always an element of peace.

Save Haven, which starrs Julianne Hough and Josh Duhamel, is my ultimate favorite Nicholas Sparks movie.

I like to compare my feelings and emotions with movies because it helps me to feel understood and not alone. It helps me to know that there are other people who feel the same way I do.

I left my home in California and started a new one in Idaho; although my and Katie’s reasons for leaving home are different, the fundamental feelings of longing for peace have always been there. I don’t believe I’m the only one who longs for peace – I believe everyone wants it in their lives and within themselves.

Katie eventually found peace, and – somehow – I have, too.

It wasn’t this town that brought me to peace; it wasn’t the people that brought me to peace; it wasn’t my studies that brought me to peace – it was myself. I was the one who was in charge of this all along, and I didn’t even know it.

I continuously prayed for peace, and I felt it come over me without realizing it. One day I woke up and noticed I had felt an incredible amount of peace for the past few months. That didn’t mean everything in my life had become easy – in fact, it was quite the opposite – but it meant I knew how to handle it.

I always advise my friends to watch certain movies with which I strongly related because I want them to feel the same way I did when I’ve finished a movie. I want them to feel happy, inspired, peaceful and grateful. Safe Haven was one of those movies.

So, if you feel trapped or burdened by overwhelming emotions that life constantly brings, take time out of your day to watch a movie that you know or believe will help you. Sometimes it’s not easy to tell people what’s going on in your life; and even if you do, sometimes they don’t listen.

The great thing about movies is that the script is already written. And the great thing about your life is that your script is already written, too.

Leave a Reply

